Tags

, , , , ,

I am not known for being particularly patient. Usually, I want it all and I want it now. The great thing about learning to make jewelry has been that I had no idea what I would be capable of when I started playing with beads, chain and wire – thank goodness. I would have driven myself insane needing to know and complete it ALL.

It turns out, I can live with evolution. The slow development of skill to match what I can envision is fun – who knew!

I have had several pieces in the “almost finished” stage for ages and in the last few weeks I have been able to complete a large number of them. The necklace pictured below, is just fun. It has no dominant color or shape and is different that pretty much anything else I have done.

custom jewelry, chain, glass beads, side clasp

I think I started this necklace at least a year and a half ago. I always knew that I wanted it to have an offset clasp, I finished all of the bead details in one night… and then I stalled – I could not figure out how to complete the back of the necklace. I was focused on making the back with a continuation of the beads used in the back, but with out color so that it would not be overwhelming. I just could not make it work. I showed the half finished bead work to my sister Susie last weekend and it all came together when she suggested using chain in the back. I love using chain – how did I not think of this!?!

Look, Shiny!

Kathy

Detail views:

Kathy Watton, Look Shiny Things, Custom Jewelry, Glass BeadsCustom Jewelry, Look Shiny Things, metal chain, glass beads

